Box2D Forums

It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:30 am
Posts: 1
Well i am using flash player 11 and box2D alchemy, is it ok or what i have to do ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 05, 2012 7:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 1:39 am
Posts: 10
write to adobe and tell them, to let alchemy work with fp11, or even better let alchemy 2 be free for use for indie game devs. (could have a rev cap to determine also)
us small time devs played a huge role in their product becoming a success so I don't see why we can't ask for this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 914
Denly: Just publish to an earlier Flash version in your publish settings. If you're using all the new fancy graphics stuff you're out of luck for the time being, though.

I'm guessing you'll just need Alchemy to actually compile SWCs, but then you can use them anywhere. So the free Box2D Alchemy port can use the free version to compile the SWC, but then everyone can use the SWC. That's just a guess though. If for some reason you'd need ALchemy to even use the SWCs... then who knows.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:31 am
Posts: 172
mayobutter wrote:
Denly: Just publish to an earlier Flash version in your publish settings. If you're using all the new fancy graphics stuff you're out of luck for the time being, though.

By "fancy graphics stuff" are you referring to Blendmode (e.g. alpha, masking) or something else?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 914
I mean the new 3D graphics / GPU accelerated stuff:

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/flashplayer/stage3d.html


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:31 am
Posts: 172
I see. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:31 am
Posts: 172
Probably should've checked first. Are sponsored flash games allowed to use the WCK which if I understand it correctly is using with the Alchemy port? If not, which port could I use?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 914
Yes you can use it for whatever you want. Same license as Box2D.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:31 am
Posts: 172
Thanks for the reply. Actually, I did see that WCK has the same license as Box2D but after reading some of the comments in this post, the "Alchemy port is open source/free/non-profit" part confused me a bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2012 12:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:07 pm
Posts: 914
Yeah the new Alchemy is going to be some weird hybrid free/paid thing, we'll have to see what they do with it when it's released. I hope that open source can use the free version and others will be able to use it without paying.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group