creating rope

Discuss issues specific to the Flash/AS3 port of Box2D
harilalkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:38 am

creating rope

Postby harilalkm » Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:49 am

hello,
am new in Box2d and game developing.

Am creating a rope using box2d . I have followed this link
http://www.emanueleferonato.com/2009/10 ... nt-1028166

I manged to recreate it in Box2d2.1 . But my rope breaks and it show elasticity. actualy i don't ned any elasticity.
I tied to adjust the values but no use. and also shows some weird animation ..
I have attached my Main.as . Actually i need a chain like animation..

Regards
harilal
Attachments
Main.zip
(1.98 KiB) Downloaded 163 times

harilalkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:38 am

Re: creating rope

Postby harilalkm » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:14 am

frinds please help...

Actually i nee dit to convert like a chain without elasticity.. I have tried diferent method but no use.. :(

mmankt
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 12:31 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: creating rope

Postby mmankt » Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:05 pm

you should have pasted an swf. anyways make all the bodies very small density (.00000000001) and don't attach a huge one at the end. keep iterations at 20 or more.

harilalkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:38 am

Re: creating rope

Postby harilalkm » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:21 am

hello friends .. please help me ... this is my code
Attachments
Main.zip
(1.88 KiB) Downloaded 162 times

irresistible force
Posts: 1988
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: creating rope

Postby irresistible force » Wed Jan 25, 2012 8:30 am

You will need to make each segment of the chain a little bit lighter than the previous one, as it gets further away from the main anchor point.
If you need to hang something heavy on the end, you will need to use a b2Rope joint to keep the rope as a whole from stretching. I don't know if this joint is in Flash yet...

jayther
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:28 am
Contact:

Re: creating rope

Postby jayther » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:10 pm

irresistible force wrote:You will need to make each segment of the chain a little bit lighter than the previous one, as it gets further away from the main anchor point.
If you need to hang something heavy on the end, you will need to use a b2Rope joint to keep the rope as a whole from stretching. I don't know if this joint is in Flash yet...

Unless Boris or another guy have secretly released a Flash port of the latest Box2D (or at least 2.2.0), there's none that I know of.

harilalkm
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:38 am

Re: creating rope

Postby harilalkm » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:30 pm

I think there is no ropejoint in flash port..


Return to “Flash”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest